Home Gluten Free Is Starbucks pumpkin spice latte gluten free?

Is Starbucks pumpkin spice latte gluten free?

Is Starbucks pumpkin spice latte gluten free?


This submit could include affiliate hyperlinks for which I earn a small fee at no further price to you. For more information, try my Disclosure Coverage. Thanks to your assist!

The nights are drawing in, the temperatures are dropping and the leaves are turning brown. Which implies one factor – it is formally PSL season! So that you may be questioning, is Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte gluten free? Here is what it’s essential know…

It nonetheless amazes me that a complete season has been constructed round one drink, so it is comprehensible you might have FOMO if you have not but had a Pumpkin Spice Latte.

Since I first wrote this submit in 2016 fairly a bit has modified, so now for 2023 this is the up to date information to if Pumpkin Spice Lattes are gluten free within the UK.

For these of you presently stood in a Starbucks (UK) together with your telephone in hand, unexpectedly Googling ‘Is Starbucks pumpkin spice latte gluten free’ – the fast reply is that it would not have any gluten-containing components.

That’s, in fact, with the caveat of an oat milk pumpkin spice latte, as Starbucks makes use of an oat milk which is not gluten free.

I personally have been in the identical place, attempting to go looking this query infinite occasions and probably not developing with a definitive reply.

So if you happen to’re in a rush, there you go – and if you happen to’re not, nicely, this is some extra info for you, together with cross contamination dangers.

starbucks pumpkin spice latte gluten free

The PSL hype begins

There’s at all times been a little bit of thriller surrounding this nearly cult-status autumnal drink, the pumpkin spice latte, or PSL because it’s usually abbreviated.

Personally, I was the most important fan of the drink, however now it is somewhat too candy for my private pereference.

I at all times was once a summer season individual however the return of PSL at all times sparks an pleasure of the nights drawing in, cosy evenings cuddled up watching tv and baking scrumptious, consolation meals.

That being mentioned, I used to get pleasure from a Pumpkin Spice Latte earlier than oat milk was launched in UK espresso outlets.

Pumpkin spice is a little bit of an American sensation which appears to be getting greater and greater annually. And I really like that vibe!

Is there gluten in a pumpkin spice latte?

pumpkin spice latte starbucks gluten free coeliac friendly

In accordance with the Starbucks Allergen Information for Autumn 2023, the next drinks do NOT include any gluten containing components:

  • Pumpkin Cream Chilly Brew
  • Pumpkin Spice Latte with skimmed, semi-skimmed or complete milk
  • Pumpkin Spice Latte with almond milk
  • Pumpkin Spice Latte with soya milk
  • Pumpkin Spice Latte with coconut milk
  • Iced Pumpkin Spice Latte with skimmed, semi-skimmed or complete milk
  • Iced Pumpkin Spice Latte with almond milk
  • Iced Pumpkin Spice Latte with coconut milk
  • Iced Pumpkin Spice Latte with soya milk
  • Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino with skimmed, semi-skimmed or complete milk
  • Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino with almond milk
  • Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino with coconut milk
  • Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino with soya milk

What different autumn drinks are gluten free in Starbucks?

In addition to pumpkin spice lattes, there are additionally another autumn drinks on the menu.

The Salted Maple and Caramel Latte, Iced Latte, Frappuccino and Chilly Brew doesn’t include gluten components when made with milk, almond milk, coconut milk or soya milk.

Which autumn drinks include gluten in Starbucks?

The next autumn drinks at Starbucks DO include gluten:

  • Any drink made with oat milk (their oat milk just isn’t gluten free)
  • Any Ghost Pumpkin drink (the sugar topping accommodates barley malt extract)
starbucks psl gluten free

What about cross contamination?

Like most locations, Starbucks ship the same old ‘we can not assure a gluten free setting’ line:

There’s a risk of cross contamination with it being round different merchandise that include gluten.”

Nevertheless, it is necessary to notice that the oat milk Starbucks makes use of, very like Costa Espresso, just isn’t gluten free.

Sadly no research have ever been performed on the chance of cross contamination from milk steamers, so it is inconceivable to say how nice the chance is.

For me personally, I might deal with it very like wherever else when consuming out with coeliac illness.

Would you eat from a toaster the place regular bread had been toasted? No.

So would I drink from a steamer the place non-gluten-free milk had been steamed?

By time and expertise I’ve come to the conclusion that my private reply to that might even be no.

However I do imagine it is necessary to base your expertise on a person retailer foundation.

In some shops you might have a very useful barista who can deep clear the steamer, or use a recent one, so it is necessary to have that dialogue.

What do you assume?

Do you keep away from Starbucks in any respect price? Or do you drink their coffees? Remark beneath and let me know your ideas.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here